Life In-Between

yesterday and tomorrow, freshman and graduation, first date and wedding bells

Fear of Ageing January 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Miss Vee @ 2:09 pm

I am grateful that it is socially unacceptable to ask a lady her age. It’s my best kept secret. I don’t want to live long enough to go back to wearing diapers. Witnessing my body malfunction right in front of my very own eyes – scary!!

I take a moment each and every single day to be thankful for mobility in my limbs; perfect vision; good hearing; a circulatory system in good condition; and the filters and purifiers (kidneys, liver, etc.); a working digestive system (as my cousin Dr.Lom says, a crap day keeps the Dr away) doing what they were meant to do, lastly and not the least my forever ticking multi-tasking nervous system.

More than just giving thanks, I put every effort to be healthy. I don’t take it for granted. I use the basics that we’ve been taught since we were 3years old. I eat a balanced diet, and yes it includes vegetables. The more the variety of colour of the food on my plate, the more likely it is to have various nutrients.

I do take supplements which is another discipline on its own. I plan what I’ll eat at the beginning of every month. I envision the different kinds of meals I can prepare and then go shopping. I eat as much fish as possibly not only because I love it but it aids memory.

No – Am not harsh on myself. I eat chocolate, cheese, etc. I take as much fluids as possible especially water. I do not smoke or ingest alcohol. I used to jog but that didn’t take so I walk where I can. I wear sunglasses to protect my eyes. I wear sunscreen and carry lip balm. Due to the unavailability of elevators, I take the stairs. I take time to sleep which is the body’s way of recharging and let myself dream dreams.

Hopefully, prayerfully, I’ll age gracefully.

Are you afraid of ageing? What do you fear most about it?

 

 

One Response to “Fear of Ageing”

  1. heather ngenda Says:

    Like this post! But i can never understand why women can’t just say their age opening in public. Is it shame for the number of years they’ve lived or fear of being judged for their shortcomings based on their age. Am one of those women that are proud to tell anyone my age because I count each day I have lived as a gift from God. And I treasure the wisdom, experience, knowledge, strength, growth and hope each new year brings. And like, you am also looking after myself! Except for supplements (never been good at taking medication so seriously making sure I eat a very balanced healthy diet). Great POST!!!!!:-)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.